Interview with Jose Cree

Our next seminar is on Tuesday 9 May and will be taken by Jose Cree. As usual, tea and biscuits from 17:40 with the seminar starting at 18:00. 

Below we talked to Jose about SE Asia, Evangelicals and early modern diseases. 

Tell us a bit about yourself, where are you from?

I’m from Nottingham originally, but I’ve lived in Sheffield for the better part of ten years now. I’ve done my BA, MA, and now my PhD there. Before starting my PhD I moved back to Nottingham briefly, to work as a seminar tutor at Nottingham Trent University.

What brought you to Durham?

I’m here to give a talk to MEMSA about my work on early modern addiction.

What is your favourite thing about the medieval/early modern period?

It’s got some pretty interesting diseases.

What does your research focus on?bloodletting

My research looks at early modern addiction across the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Addiction Studies is a huge field, but so far most research has focused on the nineteenth century or later. Early modern addiction is quite different, so I’ve done a lot of work on defining what it meant in an early modern context.

What do you plan to focus on in your seminar?

In this seminar I’m going to talk about the origins of addiction in the writings of sixteenth century protestant reformers. The word seems to have been almost exclusive to evangelicals for the 1630s and 1640s—which is odd, because the actual meaning of the word wasn’t specifically evangelical at all!

If you were not in academia, what would you be doing?

south_east_asia_map
South East Asia
Teaching English as a second language, probably somewhere in SE Asia. I did a CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching) course in Vietnam a few years ago, but moved back to the UK to teach in higher education.

Do you have a favourite medieval/early modern text?

I spend most of my time now reading short sections from lots of texts, rather than reading one text detail, but during my MA I had a lot of run reading “A narrative of God’s gracious dealings with that choice Christian Mrs. Hannah Allen”.
Leave a Reply

